5 Business Ideas for Moms

I WANT TO EARN.

That’s why after college, I barely had a month to rest and started working my ass of as much as I can. I ventured into different jobs – restaurant manager, call center agent, sales and marketing assistant, trainer and waitress, locally and abroad. I’ve always believed that in able to earn, you need to have a job. I’ve never been contented as I want to have a higher salary, thus explains that number of jobs.

The only time I stopped for a longer period is when I got pregnant. I had a freelance job in writing but then I have no luck in pursuing it due to some reasons. Business was the last on my list though I really wanted to have one.

Often, I feel discouraged by myself and other people but honestly, if only I could, then I would just have a business on my own so that there’s no more excuse for me to leave my child at home.

Ever since my little one came, I never wanted to leave his side. But then I have no luck earning at home therefore I need to work again. Now, I am just waiting for few weeks before I finally start my new job. However, I still wonder if there’s another way to earn without leaving him.

Aside from the fact that I will miss him, I am just not confident leaving him to other people (aside from my parents and sibs). With all the news about nannies harassing kids, it’s just not right to be left with the option of entrusting him to a stranger.

So, I looked for few ideas for moms (especially for single moms) on how they can earn without their precious little ones.

  1. Freelance Writing – My freelance writing job worked pretty well at first. Honestly, it really helped me earn and I know that this is a good thing to consider especially for moms who have extra time or who has no trouble managing their time taking care of the little one and doing extra stuff. Plus, it releases the creativity in you through writing.Upwork is a website that allows you to do home based writing such as ghostwriting, content writing, creative writing, etc.
  2. Food Business – For sure, there are a lot of moms out there who love cooking more than anything else (of course aside from their little ones) and this is a good idea to earn. You can either have a kiosk and sell cooked meals or you can also refer your cooking skills to people you know. This business does not only do good to your pockets but also, it lets you enhance your passion.
  3. Soap Making –  A lot of people are going back to all-natural products so a business that involves all-natural soap is in demand.Not only do you have a sure market but also, the cost for making soaps are low and can be sold twice its original cost.
  4. Event Planner – Prior to starting this, you need to have basic knowledge that you need to enhance as you go further. A lot of people nowadays are fond of having glamorous celebrations such as birthdays, anniversaries, weddings, etc. and this is perfect if you know how to manage time, deal with clients, look for suppliers and make an ordinary event extra special.
  5. Online Shop – Whether you want to sell brand new or pre-loved items such as clothes, bags or shoes, online shops are one of the best ideas for stay-at-home moms. This does not only let you not leave your home but also, you have control of your own time as you have no boss apart from yourself. Just be sure to reach your market properly and sell the products as if you’re selling it to yourself.

What other business ideas can you share to other moms? What advise can you give for those who wants to be their own boss?

Leave a comment